Golden Leaf Awards


The 2017 entry form | Read the rules

With all the negative publicity surrounding tobacco, it’s easy to lose sight of our industry’s positive aspects. Although we trade in a traditional commodity, many of our business practices and technologies are cutting-edge.

Think of a cigarette packing machine, for example. The ability to produce 1,000 cigarette packs every minute without shredding the cartons and pulverizing the tobacco rods (or injuring the operator, for that matter) should count as a small miracle.

Think also of our corporate responsibility initiatives. Most tobacco companies carefully look after the communities that provide their raw materials, investing in schools, hospitals and poverty-alleviation programs.

It’s important to recognize tobacco’s accomplishments. To create a positive buzz in a challenging environment, we have created an annual tobacco industry awards program, the Golden Leaf Awards, presented by Tobacco Reporter and sponsored exclusively by BMJ.

Awards are granted on an annual basis to companies that have achieved outstanding performance in five categories—most impressive public service initiative; most promising new product introduction; most exciting newcomer to the industry; most outstanding service to the industry; and the BMJ most committed to quality award.

We challenge you to challenge our judges by nominating your company or another company deserving of recognition. Fill out our entry form today! And, of course, we would also like to thank BMJ. Without its generous support, this program would not have been possible.

The 2017 entry form | Read the rules

Past Golden Leaf Awards:

2016 – Brussels, Belgium

2015 – Bologna, Italy

2014 – White Sulpher Springs, West Virginia, USA

2013 – Cape Town, South Africa

2012 – Antwerp, Belgium

2011 – Prague, Czech Republic

2010 – Bangalore, India

2009 – Bangkok, Thailand

2008 – Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

2007 – Paris, France

2006 – Bali, Indonesia